NACBL Mets June Wrap Up

Well, it’s decision time for me in the NACBL.  My Mets are 2 games under .500, but are still close enough to make a push for the play offs.  Even so, I may be too far out, and should dump my veterans with remaining value before it’s too late.  *sigh*  I just don’t know…

Well, there are some good things happening this season.  The combination of Jered Weaver and Brandon Webb are a combined 18-7, with an ERA around 3.30.  Hideki Okajima (3-0 4SV 0.98 ERA), now has given up 2 ER, both coming on solo HR.  Kameron Loe, who got inserted into the rotation over Jorge de la Rosa, pitched decently enough for me.  Lenny Dinardo, a throw away lefty, is 6-5 with a 4.10 ERA, respectable given his card.  My achilles heel has been the Cuban reject, Livan Hernandez.  He is 0-10, with a 7.10 ERA.  If it wasn’t for him, I’d be doing fine.  Heck, if he just won 3 games, I’d be a game over .500 right now, and in good position.  (Note to self, no more Cubans!)

I really should have known better,  In another league I had El Duque.  In yet another, I had Dennys Baez. None of them panned out for me.  I have no luck with Cubans. 

On the offensive side of things, Garret Atkins got hot.  He raised his average to .290, and now has 20HR (He hit 25 all of last year).  Hunter Pence continues to hit around .330, with some power.  I have no real team speed, so the SB is just not in my arsenal, though I keep sending guys, usually into a caught stealing.  Since being inserted into the everyday lineup, both Jack Wilson and Akinori Iwamura have risen to the challenge.  Jack is hitting over .300 with 4HR, and Aki has 6 three baggers, and is hitting around .312.  Junior Griffey saved a series single handedly by hitting 2 walk off HR.  Dan Uggla though has slipped below .200, at .198 for the season.  Xavier Nady has slipped to .258, but he does have 16 HR (20 last year). 

So here I sit, with a .488 winning percentage, 11 games out of first place.  That leaves me about 4.5 games out of the play offs.  But I do have 5 teams ahead of me.  So I’m in a tough spot.  I’m close enough to mount a charge, but may have too much to over come, with 5 teams ahead of me.  I just don’t know.  Dump and play for next year, or make a move to get a starter and make a run at it.  I suppose I can hold off one more month…

 

2 thoughts on “NACBL Mets June Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

